Holy Name of Jesus Chapel
Often called the “Small Chapel” on Jesuit’s campus, the Holy Name of Jesus Chapel is a cornerstone of spiritual life on Carrollton & Banks. Generations of Jesuits, faculty, staff, students, alumni, and family members have celebrated the sacraments in this sacred space. Built in 1901 in memory of jurist and benefactor Thomas J. Semmes, this chapel was part of the original school at Baronne and Common Streets. When the new school was built in 1925-26, the stained glass, altar, and pews were brought to serve as the domestic chapel of the Jesuit community.
Students use the chapel for daily Mass, weekly adoration of the blessed sacrament, personal prayer and reflection throughout the school day, and team and class Masses. Many Jesuit mothers meet weekly for the Mothers’ Rosary Group. Alumni classes also hold reunion Masses in the small chapel.
Renovated and restored in 2014 with the support of generous benefactors, the chapel features stained glass windows and an iconic stained glass dome.
Blue Jay alumni wishing to request use of the small chapel for the sacraments of baptism or holy matrimony should view the chapel usage page.