Holy Name of Jesus Chapel Renovation
Drawing on the Moresque style of Immaculate Conception Church on Baronne Street, the Chapel of the Holy Name of Jesus is often referred to as “the small chapel” or Holy Name Chapel. It was originally built downtown on Baronne Street in 1901 in memory of Thomas J. Semmes as part of the Jesuit College, as the school was then known. When Jesuit built its high school at Carrollton and Banks in 1925-26, the stained glass, altar, and pews of the Semmes Chapel were reconstructed on site to serve as the Jesuit community’s domestic chapel.
The chapel features beautiful original art pieces and a stained glass dome and windows that capture the eye and the imagination. These breathtaking features, more than 100 years old, now beckon for restoration and preservation to serve Jesuit’s mission of faith formation for another century.
As part of a continuing enhancement of its facilities, Jesuit began a “100-year renovation” of the Holy Name Chapel in summer 2014.
For more information, please contact Tom Bagwill at (504) 483-3841 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
|Discover how the chapel is used by Blue Jays day in and day out.|
|Learn more about the unique architectural and artistic elements of the chapel.|
|Review how the chapel was restored and renewed for the next century.|
|Watch a video detailing how Jesuit’s stained glass windows were repaired and restored.|
A Spiritual Center
The Holy Name chapel serves Jesuit’s students, faculty and staff, alumni, and families as the spiritual heart of the school. While the Chapel of the North American Martyrs, or the large chapel, continues to be used for monthly Masses and holy days of obligation, the small chapel plays an integral part in the worship life of the Jesuit High School community.
Students use the chapel for daily Mass, weekly adoration of the blessed sacrament, personal prayer and reflection throughout the school day, and team and class Masses. Many Jesuit mothers meet weekly for the Mothers’ Rosary Group. Alumni classes also hold reunion Masses in the small chapel.
A Living Link with Tradition
|Built in 1901 in memory of jurist and benefactor Thomas J. Semmes, this chapel was part of the original school at Baronne and Common Streets. When the new school was built in 1925-26, the stained glass, altar, and pews were brought to serve as the domestic chapel of the Jesuit community. It now stands as a tangible link both with the school’s origins and with the larger history of the Society of Jesus through the depiction of Jesuit saints and blesseds.The chapel’s architectural style harkens to the original Moresque features of the Jesuit church on Baronne Street. The chapel is used as a key part of the pre-freshman theology classes’ introduction to the history of the school and of the Jesuit order. The paintings highlight scenes from the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the school’s patroness.|
An Artistic Gem
|The stained glass of the dome and windows immediately captures the eye and the imagination. Wrought with the time-honored craftsmanship of the artists of Meyer of Munich, Germany, in the late 19th century, the glass shows the full scope of this demanding and impressive art.|
Stained Glass Dome
The 147 sq. ft. dome features an intricate pattern of color and design.
The portraiture in the windows shows a command of detail remarkable in stained glass.
The compositions reflects both careful symmetry and ordered design.
|More than a century old, the features of the chapel now stand in need of restoration and preservation in order to serve Jesuit’s mission of faith formation for another century. Much needed restoration and painting will help protect the chapel against future damage. Improved lighting will enhance the overall effect of this beautiful chapel.
Damage & Breakage
Over the years, the windows have developed cracks and even breakage. The dome is in need of structural enhancement and cleaning.
Several paintings have become discolored and require restoration. The pews require repair of cracks and restoration of lost parts. The ceiling and walls, which have experienced moisture damage over the years, will be restored and painted.
Stained Glass Window Restoration
Pearl River Glass, one of the nation’s leading stained glass studios, will be completing the stained glass windows restoration. Located in Jackson, Miss., Pearl River Glass will employ some of the same techniques and craftsmanship used when the century-old windows were originally created.
Watch a video detailing how Jesuit’s stained glass windows will be repaired and restored.
|Central Dome $100,000
The beautiful stained glass dome is one of three moved from the Thomas J. Semmes Memorial Chapel, located in the original school building on Baronne and Commons Streets. Created in 1901 and moved in 1926, the central dome will undergo its first renovation, ensuring that future generations of Blue Jays will continue to enjoy its beauty.
Scenes from the Life of Our Lady $25,000
Stained Glass Windows $15,000
Sacristy & Confessional Renovation $12,500
Heroic Women of the Old Testament $10,000
Stained Glass Stations of the Cross $5,000
Restoring For Generations to Come
Stations of the Cross