Guidance

One hallmark of a Jesuit education is cura personalis, an Ignatian term meaning “care of the individual.” Every one of Jesuit’s 157 faculty and staff members takes this principle to heart, and it is the foundation of Jesuit’s guidance and counseling program in particular.

Jesuit provides nine counselors: five class-level counselors, three college counselors, and a health and wellness counselor. Each Blue Jay meets periodically with his grade-level guidance counselor, who is able to monitor his academic, social, and behavioral progress. Counselors help students get the most out of high school life and deal effectively with daily issues and challenges.

Programs that monitor and assist students and families include peer support, a suicide-prevention program, and regular presentations addressing the adverse effects of chemical dependency.

School Year Hours

Guidance Counselors are available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. on regular school days. Counselors are available on exam days from 7:30 a.m. until 30 minutes after the last exam.

The Guidance Office Assistant is available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Summer Hours

June — The Guidance Office Assistant is available Monday through Friday from 7:30 am – 4 pm. Counselors are not in the office in June. Please leave a voicemail for counselors or contact them via email.

JulyThe Guidance Office is closed. Please contact counselors via email.

Senior Counselor (Class of 2025)
Stephanie C. Strain
(504) 483-3835
strain@jesuitnola.org
Junior Counselor (Class of 2026)
Justin M. Genovese ’04
(504) 483-3875
genovese@jesuitnola.org
Sophomore Counselor (Class of 2027)
Cameron J. Eckholdt ’09
(504) 483-3831
eckholdt@jesuitnola.org
Freshman Counselor (Class of 2028)
Mary U. Favalora
(504) 483-3834
favalora@jesuitnola.org
Pre-freshman Counselor (Class of 2029)
Robin Rhodes
(504) 483-3832
rhodes@jesuitnola.org
College Placement Counselor
Priscilla Felix
(504) 483-3833
felix@jesuitnola.org
College Placement Counselor
Debbie M. Flanagan
(504) 483-3836
flanagan@jesuitnola.org
College Placement Counselor
Susan E. Yelton
(504) 483-3957
yelton@jesuitnola.org
Coordinator of Student Health and Wellness Program
Grace B. Delaney
(504) 483-3850
delaney@jesuitnola.org

Tutoring Opportunities

FREE after school tutoring

3 – 4 p.m.

For 8th and 9th graders in need of extra help in English, Math, Science, and Spanish

MathBiology
Tuesday & Thursday
Room 224
Monday & Wednesday
Room 416
EnglishSpanish
Tuesday & Wednesday
Room 117
Monday (Room 322)
Tuesday (Room 324)
Physical Science
Tuesday & Thursday
Room 313