Guidance

Cura personalis: a Jesuit term that translates into “care of the individual.” This focus has been a hallmark of Jesuit education since the order was founded. Today, Jesuit continues that tradition of personal care.

Jesuit provides seven full-time counselors—five class-level counselors and three college counselors. Each student at Jesuit meets periodically with his guidance counselor who is able to monitor his academic, social, and behavioral progress. Counselors help students get the most out of life and deal effectively with daily issues and problems.

Programs designed to monitor and assist the adolescent and his parents include a peer support program, a suicide-prevention program presented by Jewish Family Services, and presentations dealing with the adverse effects of chemical dependency.

Guidance Office Hours

School Year Hours:
Guidance Counselors are available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m. on regular school days. Counselors are available on exam days from 7:30 a.m. until 30 minutes after the last exam. The Guidance Office Assistant is available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Summer Hours:
June — The Guidance Office Assistant is available Monday through Friday from 7:30 am – 4:00 pm. Counselors are not in the office in June. Please leave a voicemail for counselors or contact them via email.

July — The Guidance Office is closed. Please contact counselors via email.

2017–2018 Guidance Counselors

Pre-freshmen (Class of 2022)

Andrew Schiro
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3832
schiroa@jesuitnola.org

Coordinator of Student Assessment Program

Donald Songy ’07
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3850
songyd@jesuitnola.org

Director of Guidance
Freshmen (Class of 2021)

Aurora Daigle
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3831
daigle@jesuitnola.org

College Placement Counselor (A-Gr)

Elizabeth Hoodless
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3836
hoodless@jesuitnola.org

Sophomores (Class of 2020)

Mary Favalora
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3834
favalora@jesuitnola.org

Part-time College Placement Counselor (Gu-Me)

Keith Gramling
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3957
gramling@jesuitnola.org

Juniors (Class of 2019)

Mollie Roberts
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3835
roberts@jesuitnola.org

College Placement Counselor (Mi-Z)

Allie Timberlake
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3833
timberlake@jesuitnola.org

Seniors (Class of 2018)

Justin Genovese ’04
(504) 483-3828
Voice Mail Ext. 3875
genovese@jesuitnola.org