Lacrosse Captures 4th Consecutive State Title

Posted April 27, 2015 / Last updated February 18, 2016

Print Print Email Email Share Share
Jesuit lacrosse defeats St. Paul's 9-3 for the state championship

Senior lacrosse players, from left, Cameron Guernsey; Nick Green (partially blocked); David Zazulak; Garrett Perez; Eric Wright; Billy McMahon; Eric Wright; Tanner Burgess, Michael Simon; Jerry Spencer; Paul Stapp; and John Bradford, accept the state championship trophy from LHSLL commissioner Val Browning.

For the fourth year in a row, members of the the Jesuit lacrosse team can call themselves state champs. After knocking off St. Thomas More, 24-5, in the state semi-final game on Saturday, April 25, the Blue Jays whipped St. Paul’s on Sunday, April 26, to reclaim the state title. The final score of the championship game was 9-3. Both games were played at Lee Hedges Field in Shreveport.

Senior Cameron Guernsey, who had four goals and an assist was named the tournament’s most valuable player on offense. Goalie Rob Hinyub, a junior, took home the defensive MVP plaque. He recorded five saves while splitting time with senior Eric Wright.

The assist leader was junior Max Murret with three to go along with a goal of his own. Others scoring for the Jays were junior Kent Flower, sophomores Briggs Lucia, Noah Martin, and Parker Simoneaux.

Junior Gray Cressy led the team in takeaways (3) and ground balls (6).

Assistant coach, Mr. Nick Helenski, presented the state championship trophy to the student body at morning assembly. Mr. Steve Krobert ’05 is the team’s head coach.

The state semi-final game against St. Thomas More was a lot less competitive than the finale.

Guernsey, who plans to continue playing lacrosse in college, put the ball in the cage six times against the Cougars, while Murret tallied five goals and five assists.

Garrett Perez, Kent Flower, and Noah Martin had three goals apiece. Perez, who also plans to play college lacrosse, had two assists and four ground balls.

Others scoring for the Jays were Josh Cvitanovich, Michael Simon, Dominic Sunseri, Tyler Welsch, and David Zazulak.

Senior defender Paul Stapp had three takeaways, two assists, and two ground balls. 

Jesuit defeated St. Paul’s to win lacrosse state championships in 20122013, and 2014. And now, 2015.

Read More –  Jesuit Lacrosse Team Tops St. Paul’s to Capture 4th Consecutive LHSLL Championship