Arthur Miller’s Classic Drama The Crucible Takes Stage Nov. 13-22

Posted November 12, 2014 / Last updated April 13, 2015

Print Print Email Email Share Share
The Philelectic Society presents "The Crucible" on stage Nov. 13-22, 2014. Buy tickets online.

The Philelectic Society presents “The Crucible” on stage Nov. 13-22, 2014. Buy tickets online.

The Philelectic Society presents Arthur Miller’s classic drama, The Crucible set during the Salem witch trials of the 17th century. Blue Jays can get a sneak peek of the production at a preview performance on Thursday, Nov. 13 at 6: 30 p.m. in the auditorium. The drama opens Friday, Nov. 14 and continues Nov. 15, 21 and 22, all at 7:30 p.m., with a matinee on Saturday, Nov. 22 at 2 p.m.

The Crucible is an allegory that tells the tale of the similar “witch hunt” of McCarthyism, the practice of making unfair and unproven accusations against suspected Communists in the 1950s. Driven by themes of fear, intolerance, reputation, and hysteria, the tale unfolds dramatically on stage.

The show features guest actor, English teacher Mr. Bob Roso as the Rev. Danforth. Other title roles are played by senior Alex Daigle, junior Ben Gillen, sophomore Jarod Larriviere, senior Ashley Busenlener (Ben Franklin H.S.), sophomore Catherine Sillars (Ben Franklin/NOCCA), and sophomore Sylvia Owen (St. Mary’s Dominican H.S.).

Ticket Information

Tickets may be purchased online and during lunch in the Commons daily through Nov. 14.

Student tickets are $5 in advance/$10 at the door.

Adult tickets are $10 in advance/$15 at the door.

The Cast

Betty Parris   Emma Potts  
Reverend Samuel Parris   Alex Daigle  
Tituba   Desmonica Wilson  
Abigail Williams   Catherine Sillars  
Susanna Walcott   Cecilia Wallis  
Mrs. Ann Putnam   Kyla Zimmerman  
Thomas Putnam   Patrick Rappold  
Mercy Lewis   Emily Bagwill  
Mary Warren   Sylvia Owen  
John Proctor   Jarod Larriviere  
Rebecca Nurse   Allison Hoss  
Giles Corey   Adam Ledet  
Reverend John Hale Ben Gillen*  
Elizabeth Proctor   Ashley Busenlener  
Francis Nurse   Cameron McCall  
Ezekiel Cheever   Connor Hill*  
John Willard   Matthew O’Neill  
Judge Hathorne   Henry Mason  
Deputy-Governor Danforth   Mr. Bob Roso  
Sarah Good   Bridget Wallis  
Hopkins/Understudy Thomas Hellmers*  
Courtroom Extras   Kate Burch, Lindsey Falgoust, Emma Lopez, Theresa Myers, Ellanor Patton, Sydney Worthy  

 The Production Team

Director   Mrs. Kate Arthurs-Goldberg  
Technical Director   Mr. Ron Goldberg  
Lighting and Sound Designer   Mr. D.J. Galiano ’07  
Tech Supervisor   Mr. Charles Bourg ’10  
Choreographer   Mr. Kenny Beck ’79 

The Crew

Stage Manager  Tim Tabthong*  
Assistant Stage Manager   Conner Hartupee  
Lightboard Operator   Ethan Martinez*  
Lighting Assistant   Trey Hoard  
Soundboard Operator   Bailey Graffagnini  
Sound Assistant   Zach Huck  
Prop Master   Reed Meric  
Prop Assistant   Brice Catalano  
Set Crew   Kyle Bardell, Blake Brown, Conner Hartupee, Trey Hoard, Bryan Jones*, Jamal Jordan, Peyton Lofton, Kayla Perez, Daniel Sagona, Tim Tabthong*, Francis Weller  

Photos by Charles Bourg ’10.