National Merit Program Honors 32 Jesuit Students

Posted September 14, 2022 / Last updated September 19, 2022

Print Print Email Email Share Share

Members of Jesuit’s Class of 2023 earned 32 National Merit commendations, including 16 National Merit Semifinalist awards. These awards come in addition to the class’s two perfect 36 ACT scores earned by Patrick Dowd and Dylan Falcon and superscore 36’s from Kyle Jackson and Preston Rumney. The National Merit Semifinalists in Jesuit’s Class of 2023 are:

Top row (from left): Kyle Jackson, Aeric Wender, Patrick Dowd, Dylan Falcon, James Nolan
Middle row:   Derek Tsang, Ethan Roberts, Preston Rumney, Aidan Couvillon, Daniel Lee, Dalton Haydel
Bottom row: Chase Haydel, Jake Morvant, Asher Terrell, Andrew Davis, Wade Rogers

The 16 National Merit Semifinalists in the prestigious National Merit Scholarship Program represented approximately 7% of the 230-plus Louisiana high school honorees. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to that state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. Nationwide, nearly 1.5 million students entered the competition, and the field was narrowed to only around 16,000 semifinalists. Considering semifinalists alone, this number represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. From the elite group of semifinalists, 7,500 students will go on to win scholarships worth over $30 million.

This year’s semifinalists from Jesuit posted scores ranging from 213 to 225 on the PSAT/NMSQT®, which is used as the initial screen in the annual competition underwritten by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

The following students also earned special commendations from the National Merit Scholarship Program:

  • Aleksander Cognevich
  • Christian Courtade
  • Maxwell Daly
  • Dylan Dang
  • Scot Fisher
  • Luke Hopkins
  • Christian Pausina
  • Maxwell Prechter
  • Leon Reymond
  • Corey Sakryd

The following students earned recognition from the College Board National Recognition Program:

National Hispanic Recognition Award

  • Diego Fernandez
  • Leonardo Garcia
  • Luis Espinoza
  • Michael Ferguson
  • Nicolas Kapusta

National African American Recognition Award

  • Chase Haydel
  • Jonathan Jordan
  • Luis Espinoza

The faculty, administration, and staff of Jesuit High School congratulate these 16 National Merit Semifinalists, 10 Commended students, and 7 College Board National Recognition Program awardees for their significant academic achievement.