Jesuit Congratulates 25 National Merit Semifinalist Scholars

Posted September 21, 2021 / Last updated April 1, 2023

Print Print Email Email Share Share

Members of Jesuit’s Class of 2022 earned 25 National Merit Semifinalist awards, an accomplishment unrivaled by any other New Orleans or Louisiana high school. These awards come in addition to the class’s four perfect 36 ACT scores earned by Luc Carriere, Nicholas NobileRichard Tonry, and Matthew Vuong, as well as superscore 36 ACT scores earned by Louis Bercaw, Dylan Bracey, Shreyash Singh, and Kaden Oqueli-White.

The National Merit Semifinalists in Jesuit’s Class of 2022 are: Benjamin E. Babin, Louis M. Bercaw, Dylan D. Bracey, Luke G. Brandau, Matthew J. Busenlener, Luc O. Carriere, Jacob T. Cibilich, Connor C. Cuccia, Brian J. Fish, Jackson N. Gasquet, Roberto S. Matthews, Alexander W. Nguyen, Nicholas M. Nobile, Kaden N. Oqueli-White, Conlan B. Pausina, Collin M. Pelitere, Gabriel J. Sacasa, Jack R. Scott, Jackson L. Sevin, Shreyash Singh, Richard A. Tonry, Taylor G. Trepagnier, Khoi M. Vu, Matthew A. Vuong, and Ethan C. Waugaman.

The 25 National Merit Scholars in the prestigious National Merit Scholarship Program represented approximately 10% of the 234 Louisiana high school honorees. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to that state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. Nationwide, nearly 1.5 million students entered the competition, and the field was narrowed to around 15,000 semifinalists. Considering semifinalists alone, this number represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. From the elite group of semifinalists, 7,500 students will go on to win scholarships worth over $30 million.

This year’s semifinalists from Jesuit posted scores ranging from 213 to 227 on the PSAT/NMSQT®, which is used as the initial screen in the annual competition underwritten by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

The faculty, administration, and staff of Jesuit High School congratulate these 25 National Merit Semifinalists for their significant academic achievement.