Blue Jay Spirit on Display at 27th Annual Fishing Rodeo

Posted June 18, 2019 / Last updated June 29, 2020

Print Print Email Email Share Share

Win Schibler, sporting his Jesuit fishing club t-shirt, holds court at the weigh-in tables at the 2019 Blue Jay Fishing Rodeo. 

Father’s Day weekend was the perfect backdrop for anglers to spend time together with loved ones at the 27th annual Blue Jay Fishing Rodeo on Saturday, June 15. With one of the largest crowds in recent history, the rodeo featured delicious food, weigh-in festivities, expert speakers, exciting door prizes, a fantastic rodeo shirt, and much more. Although a portion of the event saw rain at John Ryan Stadium, the pavilion and rodeo tent kept participants dry and happy all afternoon.

Special guests for the event were members of the Jesuit fishing club, which is now more than 50 members strong! And a very special guest, whose attendance at every fishing rodeo since its inception garnered two standing ovations, was Bro. Billy Dardis, S.J.

Click here for the results of the 2019 Jesuit Fishing Rodeo!

View the 2018 Blue Jay Fishing Rodeo Photo Gallery


Special Recognition

Receiving special recognition this year for contributions to to the Blue Jay Fishing Rodeo over the last ten years, and especially recently to the Jesuit fishing club, was CCA. A special thank you goes to the executive director of CCA, David Cresson, who spoke to rodeo goers about coastal conservation. 

David Cresson from CCA thanks participants for their efforts to conserve Louisiana fishing waters for years to come.

Celebrity Captain

Providing the grand prize this year and giving a special presentation at the rodeo was Captain Charlie Thomason. With over 19 years of experience, Captain Charlie spoke about the latest hot fishing spots and best techniques. He is one of the most sought after Charter Captains along the Gulf Coast. Thank you, Captain Charlie, for your support!

Captain Charlie Thomason keeps anglers up to date with the latest fishing tips.

Fishing Rodeo Committee

Assisting chairman Mike McMahon ’85 were committee members Art Brewster ’87 (door prizes/shirt design); Tom and Ben Bagwill ’12 (set-up/tear down); Michael Heier ’05 and Chris Mills ’80 (weighmasters); Amy McMahon (registration); Br. Billy Dardis, S.J. ’58, Jude Trahant ’80, and Gavin Gillen ’98 (awards); Andrew Fuller ’96 (trophies); Gary Discon ’75, Rookie Leopold ’61, Ryan Gootee ’91, George Haydel, Pat Morris ’90 (sponsorship); Drew Necaise ’05 and Gary Discon ’75 (Yeti Raffle); D.J. Galiano ’07 (logistics/music); Jeremy Reuther ’01 (registration/promotion); Angelle & Ernest Pierre (clean-up crew); and Floyd and Peggy Guidry (stadium operations).


Division 1 (19 and older)

Category 1st 2nd 3rd
Bass Bennie Relan 3.7 Andy Bruzdzinski 3.25 Andy Bruzdzinski 2.65
Flounder Peyton Cox 2.3 Art Brewster 1.15  
Black Drum Carl Giffin 2.2    
Sheepshead Rich Donnes 4.4 Marc Bonifacic 3.9  
Speckled Trout Steven Peterman 2.95 Steven Peterman 2.9 Bob Weiss 2.8
Redfish (16″-27″) Paul Kronlage 7.7 Jake Kuebel 7.3 Glen Scheyd 5.0
Red Snapper Drew Necaise 12.9 Casey Blake 11.95 Joe Piacun 11.3

Division 2 (18 and under)

Category 1st 2nd 3rd
Bass Colin Bruzdzinski 4.35 Noah Relan 3.4 Chris Cutitto 1.85
Flounder Brennen Gauthreaux 1.2 Clifton Leblanc .5  
Black Drum Preston Bergerron 23.0 William Bonifacic 4.6  
Sheepshead Win Schibler 6.3 Connor Discon 5.1 William Bonifacic 5.05
Speckled Trout Austin Stuke 4.35 Timmy Peterman 3.2 Stephen Peterman 3.15
Redfish Chance Whitfield 8.0 Win Schibler 6.3 Harrison Golemi 5.8
Red Snapper Blair Rittner 18.90 Eddie Perrin 12.35 Lillian Stouder 11.95

Division 3  (All)

Category 1st
5-Trout Stringer Team Peterman 18.4
Biggest Fish Connor Cappo, Black Drum 38.25
Father & Daughter Ray and Lillian Stouder