In Memoriam

Enter text or last two digits of any year to search

This page features death notices and information about funeral services pertaining to deceased members of the Jesuit High School community. The page is frequently updated and is based mainly on information contained in the death notices published on Nola.com/ Times-Picayune and in the N.O. Advocate. The list of deceased is also compiled and printed in Jaynotes, Jesuit’s alumni publication. Jesuit alumni who live outside the metro New Orleans region are encouraged to email information about their deceased loved ones to Br. William J. Dardis ’58. His direct phone at Jesuit is (504) 483-3814. Inquiries and questions about information for In Memoriam should be directed to Br. Dardis.

For In Memoriam listings prior to June 1, 2013, visit Jesuit’s website archives.

Posted Thursday, October 9, 2014

Philip J. Schoen IV’ 66

Services in Summit MS

Posted Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Gaetana Leonardo Adde

Wife of the late Leo J. Adde III ’43

Wake 11-12 noon Wednesday 10/8/14
Mass 12 noon Wednesday 10/8/14
At Leitz-Eagan

Salvador J. Cangemi

Grandfather of Adam C. Ledet ’16

Wake 6-9 p.m. Thursday 10/9/14
At Tharp Sontheimer Tharp
1600 North Causeway
Wake 9-11 a.m. Friday 10/10/14
Mass 11 a.m. Friday 10/10/14
At St. Rita
Harahan LA

Posted Sunday, October 5, 2014

Leticia Velandia Klein

Mother of Henry L. Klein ’62

Grandmother of H. Christopher Klein ’92

Services private

Posted Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Paul Pascal Pareti III

Son of the late P. Pascal Pareti, Jr. ‘1919

Wake 5-9 p.m. Wednesday 10/1/14
9-11 a.m. Thursday 10/2/14
At Leitz-Eagan 4747 Veterans

Lisa L. Ricciardone

Mother of Joshua P. Ricciardone ‘03

Wake 11-1 p.m. Friday 10/3/14
Mass 1 p.m. Friday 10/3/14
At Lake Lawn

Posted Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Milton Fortune Hilbert, Jr.’ 38

Brother of the late Rev. Duval H, S.J. ’40, the late Gerard H. ’42, and the late Peter L. Hilbert ’44

Wake 9-10 a.m. Thursday 10/2/14
Mass 10 a.m. Thursday 10/2/14
At Lake Lawn

Edith Burg Murat

Grandmother of David M. Moragas ’92

Services 10 a.m. 10/6/14
At Rayne Memorial
3900 St. Charles Ave.

James Gabriel Weber

Son of Malcolm E. Andry, Jr. ’75

Brother of Malcolm E. III ’09 and Matthew H. Andry ’11

Services in Covington LA

Posted Sunday, September 28, 2014

Virginia Ricks Nick

Wife of the late Marcelin J. Nick, Jr. ’43

Wake 11-1 p.m. Wednesday 10/1/14
Mass 1 p.m. Wednesday 10/1/14
At Lake Lawn

Posted Saturday, September 27, 2014

Florence Romolia Simno-Sprout

Daughter of the late George R. Simno, Jr. ’34

Sister of George R. Simno III ’65

Wake 11-12 noon Tuesday 9/30/14
Mass 12 noon Tuesday 9/30/14
Services held at Transfiguration of the Lord Catholic Church (formerly St. Raphael’s Church, Elysian Fields and Prentiss).

Posted Thursday, September 25, 2014

Oscar J. Ory, Jr.

Grandfather of David P. ’93 and Richard O. Joint ’01, Robert D., Jr. ’94, Benjamin M. ’96, David J. ’99, Nicholas R. ’03, and Joseph P. Ory ’09

Services in Laplace LA

Posted Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Joseph John Matranga III

Father of Joseph J. IV ’00 and Joshua L. Matranga ’02

Wake 11-1 p.m. Thursday 9/25/14
Mass 1 p.m. Thursday 9/25/14
At Greenwood
5200 Canal Blvd.

Posted Tuesday, September 23, 2014

George Joseph Buchert

Grandfather of George J. ’92 and Kurt D. Buchert ’95, Raymond G. Hoffman III ’96, and William R. Spiers, Jr. ’99

Wake 11-1 p.m. Thursday 9/25/14
Mass 1 p.m. Thursday 9/25/14
At St. Angela Merici
901 Beverly Garden Drive

Bernadette Cecile Murphy

Sister of James G. ’52, William J. ’61, and the late Cecil J. Murphy, Jr. ’49

Wake 11-1 p.m. Friday 9/26/14
Mass 1 p.m. Friday 9/26/14
At Lake Lawn