Spanish Honor Society Inducts 38 New Members

Posted May 11, 2017 / Last updated May 16, 2017

Print Print Email Email Share Share
The 2017 Spanish Honor Society Inductees

The 2017 Spanish Honor Society Inductees

The Spanish Honor Society, or Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (SHH), inducted 38 new members into its ranks on the evening of Wednesday, May 10. The second annual “Noche Hispana” awards and induction banquet was held in the Student Commons for the newly inducted students and their families.

The Club de Español and the SHH honored the accomplishments of their members this year and welcomed the newest members of the Sociedad, co-moderated by Prof. Nilda Rivera and Mr. Andrew Dykema.

Senior Luke Navarro was recognized for his service to the SHH, and seniors Troy Broussard and Alex Welsh received the “Premio de Honor.” A special recognition, the Bonnie Delatte Award for Excellence in Spanish Communication, was given to senior Joshua Sauviac. Senior Xavier Oberhelman was named Member of the Year.

The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (SHH) is a national honor society for high school students enrolled in Spanish and/or Portuguese, sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP). The purpose of the society is to recognize high achievement of high school students in the Spanish and Portuguese languages and to promote a continuing interest in Hispanic and Portuguese studies. Students serve the Jesuit community by tutoring in Spanish and participate in other service to the greater Hispanic community in New Orleans. Membership in the Capítulo San Ignacio de Loyola at Jesuit High School is granted to students at the sophomore level and above who have earned an A grade in Spanish for three consecutive semesters.

View the 2017 Noche Hispana Program (PDF)

Brenden James Berggren
James Wilbur Bragg, III
Gabriel Buenano
Addison Chuong Bui
Michael George Buisson, III
Blaine Matthew Calcagno
Collin Robert Catalano
William Harrison Crumb
James Michael Davies
Lucas Alexander Deane
Neehar Nipun Desai
Luke Michael Eccles
Josef Gregory Ernst
Dowen William Fife, III
Kevin Patrick Fox
Jack N. Grady
Elliott J. Hattier
Scott Vincent Hawkins
Donovan Hieu Huynh
Ethan Kerrigan
Matthew V. LoCoco
Bennett Campbell Mansour
Jacob McCaffery
Scott Thomas McKeough
William J. Moran
William Byrne Musser
Michael Joseph Owers
Donovan T. Reynolds
Adam Michael Roussel
Duncan Henry Royster
Michael Haydel Schmidt
Andrew Maillho Schwartz
Connor Schwartz
Eduardo S. Seoane
Van Vu
Christopher Anh-Tu Vuong
Brent Joseph Williams
John Joseph Zvonek Jr.